When does MasterChef 2019 start, who’s in the line-up and who are the judges?


MASTERCHEF is cooking up a storm again in 2019 as it returns for its fifteenth series.

Here’s what we know about the the line-up for the hit BBC One show.

MasterChef is back for a fifteenth series

When does MasterChef 2019 start?

We’ve all been waiting to see when the BBC will be cooking up the next series of MasterChef – and finally the day has arrived.

Series 15 is now upon us – kicking off on TODAY (Monday, February 11) at 9pm.

The show is in its usual place on BBC One and lasts for an hour.

And the second episode swiftly follows on Wednesday, February 13.

Who’s in the new line-up?

A total of 56 amateur cooks have made it through to the televised stage of the competition.

In the first heat seven wannabe chefs are given The Market Test.

They are Guernsey lawyer Lisa Bailey, 46, who described it as an “incredible opportunity” and Tim, 26, a curator from London who has never eaten a ready meal.

They are joined by mum of two Maria S, 33, from north Lanarkshire, who works in banking relations, Nigerian-born company director Frnak, 34, from London, and Gary, 57, a sales engineer and travel fanatic who is inspired by world food.

The final two joining them are Devina, 51, who is a nurse and family cook born in Mauritius who now lives in Leatherhead, and Annabel, 22, from Middlesbrough, who started cooking dinner for her parents when she was a teenager.

The bottom three will be eliminated after The Market Test.

The final four chefs are looking to impress last year’s finalists Nawamin Pinpathomrat, David Crichton and 2018 MasterChef Champion Kenny Tutt.

Three will go through to the quarter-finals.

On Wednesday, February 13, the next seven chefs will cook in the second heat of MasterChef 2019:

  • Ottille
  • Justin
  • Phil
  • Irini
  • Ashleigh
  • Yui
  • Josh

Who are the judges?

As always, duo John Torode and Gregg Wallace return as the hosts and judges of the series.

The pair have fronted MasterChef since the show’s beginning in 2005.

Winner Kenny Tutt edged out David Crichton and Nawamin Pinpathomrat in the 2018 final.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here