AN INDIAN cricket pair produced one of the greatest catches of all time – but hardly anybody was there to witness it. Maharashtra set Railway
AN INDIAN cricket pair produced one of the greatest catches of all time – but hardly anybody was there to witness it.
Maharashtra set Railways 178 to win in their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match and were already on the brink of victory when Rahul Tripathi stole the show.
Railways needed 22 to win off the final ball of their 20-over innings when Manjeet Singh went for a big six.
He must have thought he had done it, clearing the boundary and Tripathi at long-off.
But the fielder had other ideas, somehow tracking back and launching himself over the boundary.
He managed to grab hold of the ball in his right hand but was set to step over and therefore give away a six.
But in his quick thinking, before his foot touched the ground, Tripathi somehow flicked the ball behind his back and into the field again.
Team-mate Divyang Himganekar was there to complete the sensational catch as Tripathi eventually came to a halt at the front of the stand.
But there was hardly anyone at the 30,000-capacity Holkar Stadium in Indore to see the incredible moment take place, as Tripathi jogged back on unsure if they had made the catch or not.
The on-field umpire referred to his third umpire to clarify, but signalled that he thought Tripathi had pulled it off.
The commentator calling the action said: “Here you go, last ball of the 20th over of the run chase from Railways.
“It goes high up in the air, a fielder coming under it… Is it a catch? Is it a catch?
“They are not sure about it. We will have to look at it again.
“We would like to see it again because if this is a catch it is going to be a spectacular catch… That’s a magnificent effort. This is just sensational to see. This is what T20 cricket brings to you.”
Latest cricket news
The co-commentator added: “Oh that’s beautiful. Look at that, back of the hand. That is beautifully done.”
Journalist Barny Read was one of many to share the video on social media.
He wrote: “Stop it, this is silly.”
One replied: “This is beyond cricket skill. What a presence of mind throwing the ball behind.”
Another simply added: “MIND BLOWN.”