FACEBOOK Messenger users are now able to delete messages from conversations after they’ve been sent. The feature is similar to one available
FACEBOOK Messenger users are now able to delete messages from conversations after they’ve been sent.
The feature is similar to one available to founder and chief executive Mark Zuckerberg, which was first discovered when users reported messages they have received from him had since disappeared.
How do you unsend texts on Facebook Messenger?
After its discovery, Facebook pledged to make a version of the feature available to all.
Fellow messaging service WhatsApp – which is also owned by Facebook – also has an “unsend” tool.
Users will have up to 10 minutes after a message has been sent to remove it.
The feature is accessible in both one-on-one conversations and group chats.
Facebook says users have to open a conversation with the message they want to remove.
Press and hold on a message and then select “delete” on the bottom of the screen.
If users want to remove a message just for themselves can still do that anytime by selecting “Remove for You”.
The “remove for everyone” option makes sure that the messages disappear from the inboxes of the people you sent them to, not just from your own.
MOST READ IN NEWS
The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed.
Facebook said it would also allow users to report any harmful messages which are sent and then deleted for a limited time in order to prevent abuse of the feature.
The unsend feature is available to all Messenger users around the world using the latest versions of Apple’s iOS and Google’s Android operating systems, Facebook confirmed.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online news team? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 0207 782 4368 . We pay for videos too. Click here to upload yours.’